GHS Fine Arts Presents Over $30,000 in Scholarships

Germantown High School’s internationally recognized Fine Arts Department wrapped up the school year by presenting nearly $35,000 in scholarships and service awards to its most talented students at the annual GHS Fine Arts Banquet.

The event was held on May 9 at The Great Hall and Conference Center. It signaled the perfect end to a school year that saw Germantown High’s art, band, choral, theatre and television programs honored at the local, state, regional and national levels.

“Most of our students are with us their entire four years of high school,” said GHS Fine Arts Department Chairman Allison Rogers Long. “To watch them learn about the arts is rewarding, but to see the mature, caring, responsible young adults they become is everything. We’ve been blessed with wonderful students.”

 Long and GHS Principal Barbara Harmon gave congratulatory remarks throughout the event. The evening’s most anticipated moment was the announcement of fine arts scholarship winners. Over the course of the evening, $34,100 in scholarships and service awards were presented to some of the brightest and most talented students at GHS. Twenty-three students were awarded scholarships or service awards to help further their fine arts educations at the university level. Several fine arts faculty members and supporters also presented other distinguished honors to deserving students.

 Since its inception in 1977, the Germantown High Fine Arts Scholarship Program has become a symbol of the hard work and dedication of GHS fine arts students. Numerous civic clubs, private donors and charitable organizations throughout the Germantown community generously donate the awards each year. A scholarship committee, chaired by Robert Lanier as well as community members Sara Savell, George Walters, Carol Hinely and fine arts personnel, reviewed the many scholarship applications submitted by GHS fine arts seniors.  

The Germantown Rotary Club awarded Zac Leonard a scholarship in the amount of $2,500. Presented every year since 1976, the Germantown Rotary Club Fine Arts Scholarship is the oldest of all of the GHS fine arts awards. The winner of the award is honored each year at a Rotary Club weekly luncheon. Leonard, who plans to major in Communication Arts at Middle Tennessee State University, was also named the GHS Outstanding Fine Arts Student for 2013-2014.           

The Germantown Fine Arts Foundation E. Frank Bluestein Scholarship was awarded to Maria Herrera in the amount of $2,500.            

The Germantown Association, chaired by Paul Cardelli, Robert Lanier, Thane Smith, Jr. and George Walters, awarded two scholarships. The Association’s $2,000 E. Frank Bluestein Fine Arts Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Kuns. The $1,500 Almeda Zent Scholarship was awarded to Areej Itayem.

The Seth Matthew Rowan Memorial Fine Arts Scholarship is donated by the Germantown Fine Arts Foundation in memory of Seth Matthew Rowan. The Germantown High School fine arts student was tragically killed in a car/train accident in the fall of 1994. The scholarship, in the amount of $2,500, went to Brandon Lau. The scholarship is funded through the GFAF Seth Matthew Rowan Endowment Fund and is awarded to a theatre or television student who has made outstanding contributions to the fine arts department.

Two major music scholarships were presented at this year's banquet. The Germantown Band Boosters give an instrumental music scholarship every year. Alex Franklin and Candice Herman each won one of these $2,000 scholarships.

Each year the Germantown Community Television Foundation awards a communication arts student with a $1,500 scholarship for his or her contributions to GHS-TV. Cooper Terle received the Communication Arts Scholarship this year.

The Germantown Fine Arts Foundation Theatre Arts Scholarship in the amount of $1,500 was presented to Danielle Katz.

The Elizabeth Anne Brown Fine Arts Scholarship was awarded to Madison Arthur in the amount of $1,500.

The Germantown Festival Association presented two scholarships at the banquet. Kayla Myers received the Robert Lanier Scholarship in the amount of $1,500. Bailey Frazier received the George Walters Scholarship in the amount of $1,500.

The Poplar Pike Arts Guild Sara Savell Vocal Music Scholarship is awarded every year to an outstanding vocal music student. Madison Croft received this scholarship in the amount of $1,000. Contributors for this award are the Poplar Pike Arts Guild and Sara Savell.

The Poplar Pike Arts Guild Jim and Carol Florow Dramatic Arts Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding drama student. The scholarship is named for the organization's long-time members and first co-presidents. This year's winner of the $1,000 scholarship was Kelsey Kimble.        

The David Lilly Memorial Fine Arts Service Award is an endowed fund that was established by Mr. and Mrs. C.D. Bamett in memory of Mrs. Bamett’s son David Lilly, a 1994 graduate of Germantown High School. Lilly was highly involved in all aspects of the theatre and television programs at GHS and was himself a scholarship recipient. He passed away in February of 2000. Jacob Lambert received this service award in the amount of $1,000.

Germantown Band Boosters Service Awards were presented to Dionne Gray, Spencer Jones, Travis Moody and Reilly Pierce in the amount of $750 each.

The $600 Tri-M Music Honor Society Scholarship, raised by members of the society, was awarded to Kristina Leav.

The Germantown Charity Horse Show Fine Arts Scholarship was awarded to Renee Blevins in the amount of $500.

A new award was given at the banquet this year in memory of Douglas Ramsay. The father of GHS fine arts graduate and current staff member Bobby Ramsay was a proud supporter of this department. The Douglas Ramsay Memorial Television Service Award was given to Collin Nelson in the amount of $500.

Thespian Troupe #912 faculty sponsor and GHS fine arts teacher Kirie Walz made a special presentation at the banquet this year to announce the winner of the International Thespian Society Junior Scholarship. Each year the Troupe selects one thespian in the junior class to receive a $4,000 scholarship. This year Sydney Armstrong won the award. The money is designated to send the winning student to a three-week summer acting intensive at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts. 

The Seth Matthew Rowan Sophomore Achievement Award is presented by the thespian troupe to a sophomore in the production class who exhibited the greatest potential and leadership qualities. Hayley Bardos won this prestigious award.